Cantley’s Home Children: An Introduction

Cantley 1889 Articles

<em>Echo</em> Cantley <em>Echo</em>

The following article first appeared in The Echo of Cantley Volume 35 no 10 May 2024. This article is made available for the enjoyment of others with the express permission of the Echo of Cantley.


Cantley 1889’s mission is to discover, document, protect and promote Cantley’s history and heritage including our pristine natural heritage. Lorne Mountain is Cantley’s natural treasure, our living nature museum.

Cantley’s Home Children: An Introduction

Mary Holmes

Between 1869 and 1939 more than 100,000 British Home Children were sent to Canada. These children were typically between the ages of seven and fourteen. Most were designated as orphans, but, in fact, two-thirds of them had a parent in Britain. They were from destitute families who were unable to care for their children. Many lived in workhouses where room and board were provided in return for work, essentially slave labour. To help with this devastating problem and to alleviate labour shortages in its colonies, Britain shipped these children to its colonies with the promise the children would have a better life abroad.

New Orpington Lodge was opened in 1895 in Ottawa’s Hintonburg. It was renamed St. George’s Home under the care of the Sisters of Charity of St. Paul. It closed in 1935.

British Home Children are generally defined as being 18 years and under. Depending on the agency that sent them to Canada, they could expect to be “adopted” or placed as indentured servants. In the latter case, their wages were often held back until adulthood providing them with a “nest egg” to start their new life. When an “adopted” child’s name appears on the Census record, it is likely a refl ection of the affection in which they were held rather than a legality. This may explain why the children continued to use their own names throughout their lives.

Our preliminary research used the census records and British Home Children records of Library and Archives Canada. Cantley 1889 has identified 23 likely home children in the 1911 Census. These six girls and 17 boys arrived in Canada between 1899 and 1911 to work on Cantley’s farms. They all came by ship, namely the Bavarian, Corsican, Tunisian or Mongolian. Most left from Liverpool, England, arriving in Quebec nine to ten days later.

The children underwent medical inspections before leaving Britain and again before leaving the ship when it arrived in Canada. Upon arrival, the children were brought to “receiving” or “distribution” homes. The Catholic children in the Cantley group were routed through St. George’s Home at 1153 Wellington Street, Ottawa. As a first stop, most of the Protestant children went to Knowlton Homes in Knowlton, QC. A few others were sent to Halifax, NS, Peterborough, ON, or Brockville, ON.

From there, they were taken to the homes of farmers in Cantley after the required applications and agreements were filled in and approved. The circumstances were as varied as the farmers. Sometimes they were sent to young families as mothers’ helpers. Often, they went to households where the farmers were elderly or widows/ widowers, or where there were only young daughters.

Most were accepted into the family and treated as family members. The children were taught skills or trades that could help them to make an honourable living as adults. For most boys, this meant learning agricultural skills, as it did for farm children born in Canada. Girls learned home domestic skills. Some stayed in Cantley and made their lives here. The rest moved on to other locales.

We have previously profiled Ernest Gobell (Echo, November 2020) and James (Jimmy) Smith (Echo, November 2018). If you can help put “flesh on the bones”, and pictures, of any of Cantley’s Home Children, please contact Cantley 1889 at info.cantley1889@gmail.com

Cantley’s Home Children

 

When Home Children first arrived in Canada, they stayed at receiving homes like Knowlton Home, Knowlton QC.

British Home Child, Jimmy Smith (right, age 97) lived with Cantley’s George and Catherine Burke. He later moved in with the Lola Burke / Ray Foley family. He was a World War I veteran so spent his later years in Ottawa’s Rideau Veterans Home shown here with Governor General Ray Hnatyshyn. The Ottawa Citizen, October 27, 1994.

Return to list...

Articles Cantley 1889

<em>Echo</em> Cantley <em>Echo</em>

Cet article a été publié par l'Écho de Cantley Mai 2024, Volume 35 no 10. L'Écho de Cantley a explicitement autorisé la publication de ces articles pour l'information et le plaisir nos lecteurs.


La mission de Cantley 1889 est de découvrir, de documenter, de protéger et de promouvoir l'histoire et le patrimoine de Cantley, y compris notre patrimoine naturel inaltéré. Le Mont Lorne est le trésor naturel de Cantley, notre musée de nature vivante.

Des petits immigrants britanniques à Cantley

Mary Holmes (Traduction gracieusité des bénévoles de L’Écho de Cantley)

Entre 1869 et 1939, plus de 100 000 enfants britanniques, appelés les « petits immigrants britanniques », ont été envoyés au Canada. Ces enfants étaient généralement âgés de sept à quatorze ans. La plupart étaient désignés comme orphelins, mais en fait, les deux tiers d’entre eux avaient un parent en Grande-Bretagne. Ils provenaient de familles démunies, incapables de s’occuper de leurs enfants. Beaucoup vivaient dans des hospices qui offraient chambre et pension en échange de travail, essentiellement du travail forcé. Pour aider à résoudre ce problème dévastateur et à atténuer les pénuries de main-d’œuvre dans ses colonies, la Grande-Bretagne a expédié ces enfants dans ses colonies en leur promettant une vie meilleure à l’étranger.

Le foyer d’accueil New Orpington Lodge a été ouvert en 1895 à Hintonburg, à Ottawa. Il a été rebaptisé St. George's Home sous les soins des Sœurs de la Charité de Saint-Paul. Il a fermé en 1935.

Règle générale, les petits immigrants britanniques étaient des enfants âgés de 18 ans et moins. Selon l’agence qui les envoyait au Canada, ils pouvaient s’attendre à être « adoptés » ou placés en tant qu’engagés sous contrat. Dans ce dernier cas, leur salaire était souvent retenu jusqu’à l’âge adulte, leur fournissant alors un « pécule » pour commencer leur nouvelle vie. Lorsqu’il est inscrit « fils adoptif ou fille adoptive » à côté du nom d’un enfant immigrant britannique dans un recensement, cela démontre l’affection accordée à l’enfant plutôt qu’une légalité. Cela peut expliquer pourquoi les enfants ont continué à utiliser leur propre nom tout au long de leur vie.

Notre recherche préliminaire a utilisé les recensements et les dossiers des petits immigrants britanniques de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Cantley 1889 a identifié 23 petits immigrants britanniques lors du recensement de 1911. Ces six filles et 17 garçons sont arrivés au Canada entre 1899 et 1911 pour travailler dans les fermes de Cantley. Ils sont tous venus par bateau, à savoir le Bavarian, le Corsican, le Tunisian ou le Mongolian. La plupart sont partis de Liverpool, en Angleterre, arrivant au Québec neuf à dix jours plus tard.

Les enfants ont subi des inspections médicales avant de quitter la Grande-Bretagne et à nouveau avant de quitter le navire à leur arrivée au Canada. À leur arrivée, les enfants étaient placés dans des « foyers d’accueil ». Les enfants catholiques du groupe Cantley sont allés au foyer d’accueil St. George’s Home au 1153, rue Wellington, à Ottawa. Quant aux enfants protestants, la plupart allaient d’abord au foyer d’accueil Knowlton Homes, à Knowlton, Québec. Quelques autres ont été envoyés à Halifax en NouvelleÉcosse, à Peterborough ou à Brockville en Ontario.

De là, après que les demandes et les contrats requis aient été remplis et approuvés, on les a emmenés chez les agriculteurs de Cantley. Les circonstances étaient aussi variées que les agriculteurs. Parfois, ils étaient envoyés auprès de jeunes familles en tant qu’aides familiales. Souvent, ils allaient dans des ménages où les agriculteurs étaient des personnes âgées ou des veuves/veufs, ou encore dans des ménages où n’y avait que des petites fi lles.

La plupart ont été acceptés dans la famille et traités comme des membres de la famille. Les enfants ont appris des métiers ou des compétences pouvant les aider à gagner leur vie de façon honorable à l’âge adulte. Pour la plupart des garçons, cela signifiait l’apprentissage des compétences agricoles, comme c’était le cas pour les enfants nés au Canada. Les filles apprenaient leurs compétences en arts ménagers à la maison. Certains de ces petits immigrants sont restés à Cantley et ont fait leur vie ici; d’autres sont déménagés ailleurs.

Nous avons déjà présenté Ernest Gobell (L’Écho, novembre 2020) et James (Jimmy) Smith (L’Écho, novembre 2018). Si vous pouvez nous aider à identifi er l’un des petits immigrants britanniques de Cantley ou nous partager des photos, veuillez contacter Cantley 1889 à info.cantley1889@gmail.com

Cantley’s Home Children

 

Les premiers petits immigrants britanniques arrivés au Canada sont restés dans des foyers d'accueil comme Knowlton Home, à Knowlton, Québec.

L’enfant britannique Jimmy Smith (à droite, 97 ans) a vécu avec George et Catherine Burke de Cantley pour ensuite emménager avec la famille Lola Burke/Ray Foley. Il était un vétéran de la Première Guerre mondiale. Il a donc passé ses dernières années au Centre de santé des anciens combattants Rideau d’Ottawa, montré ici avec le gouverneur général Ray Hnatyshyn. The Ottawa Citizen, 27 octobre 1994.

Retour au liste...