Cantley’s Heritage – Why So Important

Cantley 1889 Articles

<em>Echo</em> Cantley <em>Echo</em>

The following article first appeared in The Echo of Cantley Volume 32 no 9, April 2021. This article is made available for the enjoyment of others with the express permission of the Echo of Cantley.


Cantley’s Heritage – Why So Important

By Michael Rosen, Chair, Heritage Committee, Cantley 1889

For the last 20 years, the Municipality of Cantley has been one of the fastest-growing communities in Canada. Unfortunately, this has meant the disappearance of many historically significant structures and landscapes. Of the five “Early Houses of Cantley” documented by Bob Phillips in The History of Cantley (1989) three are now gone: Blackburn House (1900) Dean House (1903) and the United Church (1877). The United Church was one of Cantley’s oldest community buildings. It was particularly disturbing when a municipal demolishment permit was hastily issued in 2020 with little thought given to “re-purposing” the building.

Logging on the Gatineau River at Cascades near the Cantley shore, August 1900 (pre-1927 flooding). Photo Topley Studio fonds, Library and Archives Canada.

“89” is an important number for Cantley. It was in 1889 that Cantley was first formed out of the old “Township of East Hull”, eventually becoming a part of the City of Gatineau. When it became clear that Cantley’s voice was not being heard (talk of a garbage dump did not help) a referendum created a “new” municipality of Cantley in 1989. In 2010, the community group Cantley 1889 was formed “to discover, catalogue, protect and promote our heritage”.

In effect, we all share the heritage of Cantley in some way. Heritage includes:

  • The tangible - our historical sites, buildings, monuments, objects in artefacts and archives
     
  • The natural - our waterways, landscapes, woodlands, bogs, uplands, native wildlife, insects, plants, trees, birds and animals
     
  • The intangible - our customs, sports, music, dance, folklore, crafts, skills, and knowledge
     

Our Cantley heritage is based on its three historical pillars:

Agriculture

We rely on healthy ecosystems for nutrition, food security, clean air and fresh water. We are fortunate to have much of our agricultural land protected. We must celebrate the products and services brought here by the generations of farmers who founded Cantley – a celebration which will be an active part of Cantley’s present (and future) economy. The new initiative, La Cercle d’autosuffiance de Cantley de solidarité profiles sustainable agriculture in Cantley.

Mining

The demand for minerals like iron, mica, phosphate, feldspar and silica meant that at one time, there were about 50 mines operating in Cantley. During Cantley’s mining era, fortunes were made and lost by mining prospectors, speculators, investors and miners. Signs installed around the Nakkertok Ski Club celebrate the Haycock iron ore mine, helping us to understand the significance of this industry. So too does the restored mine car from Cantley’s Dacey Mine restored in Parc Mary-Anne-Phillips.

Forestry

Cantley was an active participant in the log drive down the Gatineau River. Here, millions of board feet of white pine, hardwoods (maple, oak, cherry) and spruce/balsam pulpwood floated down to the awaiting mills of Gatineau, Hull and Ottawa guided by expert Log Drivers. “Le Champagne” tugboat now installed in parc Mary-Anne-Phillips is a tribute to Cantley’s role in the Gatineau River’s logging era.

Projects to enhance local heritage have the potential to re-energize neglected areas and provide opportunities for local people to review, re-engage with and re-interpret their heritage.

Heritage is fragile, yet it delivers so much in terms of important human experience and enjoyment. It enriches our lives, allows us to define ourselves but needs constant protection and development. It is essential that the significance of our heritage is acknowledged by our municipal government in its Official Plan (at present it is not) and reflected in appropriate and reformed structures and funding. This will ensure that the best elements of our heritage will be passed on to our children and their children in turn.

How you can participate and help!

Explore, learn, respect, celebrate, enjoy! Ask your municipality to help protect our heritage.

Visit the heritage area in parc Mary-Anne-Phillips and, later this summer, the Blackburn Pioneer Cemetery.

Visit www.cantley1889.ca to see photos, videos, stories and Cantley 1889’s virtual museum.

Consider a membership in Cantley 1889 to show your support for Cantley’s heritage.

 

Blackburn Mine, or “The Gow”, 1878 -1964. Signifi cant to Cantley life, employing mostly local farmers. Cantley’s most valuable mine; principal mica producer in Quebec. Photo courtesy Jeannie Gow Faraday collection.
Typical Cantley scene, unchanged since1885 when fi rst settled by Patrick Graham. The Barton family owned it from 1928 to 1968 when purchased by current owner Anthony Keith. House circa 1912.

 

Be sure to visit the heritage area of Parc Mary-Anne-Phillips. Photo M. Bell.
“The William Storey House”, owned by Storey family since 1911. Original land granted to William Storey Sr., 1862. Pierre Belisle photography as seen in Cantley 1889's Virtual Museum cantley1889.ca

 

Return to list...

Articles Cantley 1889

<em>Echo</em> Cantley <em>Echo</em>

Cet article a été publié par l'Écho de Cantley Juin 2021, Volume 33 no 11. L'Écho de Cantley a explicitement autorisé la publication de ces articles pour l'information et le plaisir nos lecteurs.


Patrimoine de Cantley – Pourquoi est-ce si important?

Michael Rosen, président, Comité du patrimoine, Cantley 1889, Traduit par Chantal Perron

Au cours des 20 dernières années, la municipalité de Cantley a été l’une des communautés qui ont connu la croissance la plus rapide au Canada. Malheureusement, cela veut dire la disparition de plusieurs structures historiques importantes et de nombreux paysages. Parmi les cinq « premières maisons de Cantley » documentées par Bob Phillips dans L’histoire de Cantley (1989), trois ont disparu : la maison Blackburn (1900), la maison Dean (1903) et la United Church (1877). La United Church était l’un des plus vieux bâtiments de la communauté de Cantley. L’inquiétude s’est particulièrement installée lorsque le permis de démolition municipal a été délivré en 2020 sans avoir pensé à reconvertir le bâtiment.

Drave sur la rivière Gatineau à Cascades, près des rives de Cantley, août 1900 (avant les inondations de 1927). Photo Topley Studio fonds, Archives Canada

Le chiffre « 89 » est important pour Cantley. C’est en 1889 que Cantley a d’abord été créée à l’extérieur de l’ancien canton de Hull Est, qui deviendra par la suite une partie de la Ville de Gatineau. Lorsqu’il est devenu évident que la voix de Cantley n’était pas entendue (le fait de parler d’un dépotoir n’aidait pas), un référendum a créé la « nouvelle » municipalité de Cantley en 1989. En 2010, le groupe communautaire Cantley 1889 a été formé « pour découvrir, inventorier, protéger et promouvoir notre patrimoine ».

En effet, nous sommes tous liés au patrimoine de Cantley de différentes façons. Le patrimoine inclut :

  • Le matériel – nos sites, immeubles, monuments, artéfacts et nos archives historiques;
     
  • Le naturel – nos plans d’eau, nos paysages, nos forêts, nos marais, nos terres, nos espèces sauvages, nos insectes, nos plantes, nos arbres, nos oiseaux et nos animaux;
     
  • Ce qui est immatériel – nos coutumes, nos sports, notre musique, notre danse, notre folklore, nos artisans, nos habiletés et nos connaissances.
     

Notre patrimoine de Cantley est fondé sur trois piliers historiques :

Agriculture

Nous dépendons des écosystèmes sains pour la nutrition, la sécurité alimentaire, l’air pur et l’eau fraiche. Nous sommes chanceux d’avoir une grande portion de notre terre agricole protégée. Nous devons célébrer les produits et services qu’ont apportés les générations de fermiers qui ont fondé Cantley – une célébration qui sera une partie active de l’économie actuelle et (future) de Cantley. La nouvelle initiative, La Cercle d’autosuffiance de Cantley de solidarité amorce une agriculture durable à Cantley.

Extraction minière

La demande pour les minéraux comme le fer, le mica, le phosphate, le feldspath et la silice signifie qu’à un moment donné, il y avait environ 50 mines en exploitation à Cantley. À l’époque de l’extraction minière à Cantley, des prospecteurs, des spéculateurs, des investisseurs et des sociétés minières ont fait fortune et ont aussi subi des pertes. Les panneaux situés près du club de ski Nakkertok font état de la mine de minerai de fer Haycock, et nous aident à comprendre l’importance de cette industrie. De même que la voiture restaurée, provenant de la mine Dacey de Cantley restaurée au parc Mary-Anne-Phillips.

Foresterie

: Cantley a eu un rôle actif dans la drave sur la rivière Gatineau. Il s’agit ici de millions de pieds de planches de pin blanc, de bois franc (érable, chêne, cerisier) et de bois de pâte d’épinette/sapin qui fl ottaient vers les moulins de Gatineau, de Hull et d’Ottawa, guidés par les draveurs. Le bateauremorque E.Champagne, maintenant installé au parc Mary-Anne-Phillips, rend hommage au rôle de Cantley à l’époque de la drave sur la rivière Gatineau.

Les projets pour améliorer le patrimoine local peuvent favoriser la revitalisation des secteurs négligés et faire en sorte d’offrir aux citoyens des occasions d’examiner, de se réengager et de réinterpréter notre patrimoine.

Le patrimoine est fragile, il offre énormément en termes d’importantes expériences humaines et de satisfaction. Il enrichit nos vies, permet de nous définir, mais il doit toujours être protégé et développé. Il est essentiel que notre administration municipale reconnaisse l’importance de notre patrimoine dans son Plan offi ciel (ce qui n’est pas le cas actuellement) et soit reflétée dans la réforme des structures et le fi nancement appropriés. Les meilleurs éléments de notre patrimoine seront ainsi légués à nos enfants, puis à leurs enfants.

Comment pouvez-vous participer et aider!

Explorez, apprenez, respectez, célébrez et appréciez! Demandez à la Municipalité d’aider à protéger notre patrimoine.

Visitez un site du patrimoine au parc Mary-Anne-Phillips et, plus tard cet été, le cimetière de pionniers de la famille Blackburn.

Consultez le site Internet www.cantley1889.ca pour voir des photos, vidéos, lire des histoires et admirer le musée virtuel Cantley 1889.

Devenez a membre de Cantley 1889 pour exprimer votre soutien au patrimoine de Cantley

 

Mine Blackburn, ou “The Gow”, 1878-1964. Importante pour la vie de Cantley, qui employait en majorité des fermiers locaux. La mine la plus importante de Cantley; principal producteur de mica au Québec. Crédit photo : Jeannine Gow Faraday.
Scène typique de Cantley, identique depuis 1885 lorsque Patrick Graham s’y est d’abord installé. La famille Barton en a été propriétaire de 1928 à 1968 puis Anthony Keith l’a acheté et en est toujours le propriétaire. Maison datant de 1912.

 

N’oubliez pas de visiter le site du patrimoine au parc Mary-Anne-Phillips.
« La maison William Storey », appartenant à la famille Storey depuis 1911. Le terrain original a été octroyé à William Storey père, 1862. Photo de Pierre Belisle telle qu’illustrée dans le musée virtuel de Cantley 1889.

 

Retour au liste...