Gone but not Forgotten: Jan Turko

Cantley 1889 Articles

<em>Echo</em> Cantley <em>Echo</em>

The following article first appeared in The Echo of Cantley Volume 32 no 9, April 2021. This article is made available for the enjoyment of others with the express permission of the Echo of Cantley.


Gone but not Forgotten: Jan Turko

By Mary Holmes

Jan Turko, was born in Poland in July 1917. He died peacefully in February, 2021 in Ottawa in his 104th year.

To read about Jan’s war experiences, see the November 2012 L’Echo. The following updated excerpt about Jan’s Cantley years, is from that same article.

Jan Turko as a young man (date unknown)

After the war, Jan was stationed in Scotland for work in the iron mines. After surviving internment and enduring the atrocities of war, Jan did not want to work underground. His other option was to emigrate to a farm in Canada, Australia or New Zealand which offered a two-year contract giving workers the freedom to earn their own living thereafter. Jan opted for Australia but, due to his lack of English at the time, landed in Canada instead!

In 1947, Jan arrived by the ship Dasvidaniya at Pier 21 in Halifax where he was given work clothes and a week’s rest. He then made his way by train to Ottawa, then Hull. Maynard Burke was there to meet Jan to drive him to his new workplace and home on his uncle Tom Fleming’s farm in Cantley.

Contracted farm workers had the option of leaving their assigned farms if they were not well treated but the Tom Fleming household welcomed Jan as one of the family. Because he could not speak any English, Maynard’s brother, Greg, bought Jan a Polish/English dictionary during his first week at the farm.

After the two-year contract, Jan looked for permanent work. He travelled west to the Prairies on the Harvest Train. Although there was plenty of harvest work, Jan couldn’t find a permanent job out west so he returned to Cantley that autumn.

Through a Fleming family connection, Jan was soon on his way to Maniwaki to work in the bush. Novice workers were paid a daily rate. After two weeks they were paid by each cord of wood they cut. With no experience, Jan had to learn fast to earn any money. He was so successful he spent the next 28 years working for C.I.P. (Canadian International Paper Company). Along the way, he learned to speak English and French and to operate a tugboat. He worked his way up to foreman, at one point looking after the pay for 60 men. Jan claimed he never fired a man in all his time as foreman although, he said, he did have discussions asking some of his workers to consider if bush work was the best use of their talents.

Every spring when Jan’s bush work ended, the Fleming family was happy to welcome Jan back home to the family farm. Cantley’s single ladies were glad to see him back at local dances. He was tall, handsome, and quite a good dancer who delighted to teach the polka to his partners.

Jan lived a long and incredible life. He proudly showed the official letter declaring his Canadian Citizenship in 1953. Yet, he never forgot his Polish family. After 1990, he was able to make many trips to Poland to become re-acquainted with his family after fifty years of separation. Some were eventually able to visit him in Cantley. He was instrumental in bringing one of his grand-nieces to Canada and helping her get established here.

Jan cared deeply for the farm, which he eventually purchased, and his adopted Fleming family, his many friends and the community of Cantley. Those family and friends also cared very much about him and will remember him with great affection.

Jan Turko shown with wood he cut and split then stacked at his “Fleming Farm”, Cantley. (date unkown)
Jan Turko at 102-years-old, hiding behind his newspaper in his “Fleming Farmhouse” kitchen, Cantley. Photo taken in 2018 by Pierre Bélisle for Cantley’s Virtual Museum.

 

Return to list...

Articles Cantley 1889

<em>Echo</em> Cantley <em>Echo</em>

Cet article a été publié par l'Écho de Cantley Février 2021, Volume 33 no 7. L'Écho de Cantley a explicitement autorisé la publication de ces articles pour l'information et le plaisir nos lecteurs.


Jan Turko nous a quittés, mais nous ne l’oublierons pas

Traduction/révision : Oriana Barkham, Chantal Perron et Christine Fournier

Jan Turko est né en Pologne, en juillet 1917. Il est décédé paisiblement en février 2021 à Ottawa, à l’âge de 104 ans.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le vécu de Jan pendant la guerre, consultez L’Écho de novembre 2012. Cet extrait de la vie de Jan à Cantley provient du même article.

Le jeune Jan Turko (date inconnue).

Après la guerre, Jan a été posté en Écosse pour travailler dans les mines de fer. Après avoir survécu à la détention et aux atrocités de la guerre, il ne voulait pas travailler sous terre. Son autre option était d’émigrer au Canada, en Australie ou en Nouvelle-Zélande pour travailler sur une ferme. Cette option offrait aux émigrants un contrat de deux ans et, par la suite, la possibilité de gagner leur vie à leur gré. Jan a choisi l’Australie, mais sa connaissance de l’anglais était alors si médiocre qu’il s’est retrouvé au Canada.

En 1947, Jan est arrivé à bord du navire Dasvidanya au Quai 21 à Halifax où on lui a donné des vêtements de travail et une semaine de repos. Par la suite, il a pris le train pour Ottawa, puis pour Hull. Maynard Burke l’attendait pour le conduire à la ferme de son oncle Tom Fleming à Cantley, nouveau lieu de travail et de résidence de Jan.

Les travailleurs agricoles qui avaient un travail par contrat pouvaient aller travailler ailleurs si les conditions étaient déplorables. Toutefois, la famille de Tom Fleming a accueilli Jan comme un membre de la famille. Pendant sa première semaine à la ferme, comme Jan ne parlait pas anglais, Greg, le frère de Maynard, lui a acheté un dictionnaire polonais/anglais.

Après son contrat de deux ans, Jan a cherché un travail permanent. Il a voyagé vers l’Ouest, jusqu’aux Prairies, sur les trains de la Moisson. Même s’il y avait suffisamment de travaux de récolte, il ne trouvait pas d’emploi permanent et il est donc retourné à Cantley cet automne-là.

Avec l’aide d’un ami de la famille Fleming, Jan est allé à Maniwaki pour travailler comme bûcheron. Les travailleurs débutants étaient d’abord payés au taux journalier. Après deux semaines, ils étaient payés pour chaque corde de bois coupée. Sans expérience comme bûcheron, Jan a dû apprendre rapidement s’il souhaitait gagner sa vie. Il a si bien réussi qu’il a travaillé à la Compagnie internationale de papier du Canada (CIP), pendant 28 ans. Au cours des années, il a appris l’anglais et le français et le fonctionnement d’un remorqueur. Il a gravi les échelons jusqu’à devenir contremaître, avec 60 hommes sous sa responsabilité. Jan a dit n’avoir jamais congédié personne en tant que contremaître. Cependant, il a ajouté avoir eu des discussions avec certains hommes pour savoir si le travail dans le bois correspondait à leurs talents.

Chaque printemps, à la fin du travail dans le bois, la famille Fleming l’accueillait à bras ouverts à leur ferme. Les femmes célibataires de Cantley étaient heureuses de le revoir aux soirées de danse. Il était grand, beau et plutôt bon danseur. Il était ravi d’enseigner la polka à ses partenaires.

Jan a eu une vie longue et extraordinaire. Il montrait avec fierté sa lettre officielle de 1953 qui le déclarait citoyen canadien. Cependant, il n’a jamais oublié sa famille en Pologne. Après 1990, après 50 ans de séparation, il s’est rendu plusieurs fois en Pologne pour renouer avec les membres de sa famille. Plusieurs lui ont rendu visite à Cantley. Grâce à Jan, une de ses petites-nièces s’est établie au Canada.

Jan attachait une grande importance à la ferme, qu’il a achetée par la suite, et à sa famille adoptive, les Fleming, ainsi qu’à ses amis et à la communauté de Cantley. Sa famille adoptive et ses amis l’aimaient aussi beaucoup et se souviendront de lui avec beaucoup de tendresse.

Jan Turko avec du bois qu’il a coupé, fendu et empilé à sa ferme Fleming, Cantley (date inconnue).
Jan Turko âgé de 102 ans, dissimulé derrière son journal dans la cuisine de la ferme Fleming, Cantley. Photo prise en 2018 par Pierre Bélisle pour le Musée virtuel de Cantley.

 

Retour au liste...