Le Musée « POP UP » Museum

Cantley 1889 Articles

<em>Echo</em> Cantley <em>Echo</em>

The following article first appeared in The Echo of Cantley Volume 32 no 3, September 2019. This article is made available for the enjoyment of others with the express permission of the Echo of Cantley.

Le Musée « POP UP » Museum

Featuring historic tools and treasures used by Cantley’s earliest families

Margaret Phillips

1819 was the dawn of a new era!

With current minimalist trends to downsize, we are encouraged to throw things away. Fortunately for us, in bygone times “things” were expected to last a lifetime or longer, to be cared for, then passed on to next generations. Tools and treasures were designed and produced with these expectations in mind.

There are still historic tools and treasures in Cantley which have lasted for generations. Some of these will be on display at our “POP UP Museum” along with historic artifacts from nearby regions.

By examining the items used by our Cantley ancestors, we can learn so much about them, for example what they needed for survival, obstacles they had to live through, how they lived their lives, what was important to them and, of course, their creativity, skills and craftsmanship. Many treasures and tools were home-made ... and ingenious!

>Cantley 1889’s “POP UP Museum” will allow you to experience a “hands-on” taste of Cantley history to discover how our Cantley ancestors lived.

Can you guess?

(Before reading the caption, try guessing what each item was used for!)
These artifacts, and many more, will be at the Musée “POP UP ” Museum.


 
  1. Log branding hammer Each logging company branded its logs with its registered mark before floating them down the Gatineau River. This hammer has an E which means its logs belonged to the E. B. Eddy pulp and paper company in Hull (today’s Gatineau).
  2. SkateThe skate was strapped on to the skater’s boot.
  3. Hair waving iron Once heated on the wood stove, this iron could fashion hair into waves, the latest style a century ago.
  4. Mica cuttersdonated to Cantley 1889 by Raymond Poirier. Cantley once had many mica mines. The most famous was the Blackburn Mine.
  5. Stereopticon(“magic lantern”) – In the mid 19th century (before movies) these were very popular. When viewed through the 2 lenses, the double images on the card dissolve together to show one realistic 3-D image.
  6. Raisin-seeder Before commercialization of seedless grapes, raisins had seeds. This 1895 kitchen gadget, designed to remove the raisin seeds, has engraved instructions: “wet the raisins”.

Articles Cantley 1889

<em>Echo</em> Cantley <em>Echo</em>

Cet article a été publié par l'Écho de Cantley Septembre 2019, Volume 32 no 3. L'Écho de Cantley a explicitement autorisé la publication de ces articles pour l'information et le plaisir nos lecteurs.

Le Musée « POP UP » Museum

Mettant en scène des trouvailles et des outils historiques utilisés par les familles fondatrices de Cantley

Margaret Phillips

1819 was the dawn of a new era!

La tendance actuelle au minimalisme nous encourage à nous débarrasser de nos objets. Heureusement pour nous, dans l’ancien temps, les « objets » duraient très longtemps. Ils étaient entretenus, puis légués aux prochaines générations. Les trouvailles et les outils étaient conçus et fabriqués pour durer.

À Cantley, on trouve encore de ces trouvailles du passé qui ont traversé les générations. Certaines seront exposées au Musée « POP UP », aux côtés d’artéfacts provenant de régions voisines.

En examinant les objets de nos ancêtres cantléens, on peut en apprendre tellement sur eux, par exemple ce dont ils avaient besoin pour survivre, les obstacles qui se dressaient devant eux, leur mode de vie, ce qui était important pour eux et, bien sûr, leur créativité, leurs habiletés et leur savoir-faire. Bon nombre de ces outils étaient faits manuellement et… ils relevaient du génie!

Le Musée « POP UP » de Cantley 1889 vous offre la chance de voir de vos propres yeux l’histoire de Cantley et de découvrir le mode de vie de vos ancêtres.

Devinerez-vous?

(Avant de lire les légendes de photos, essayez de deviner à quoi servait chacun de ces objets! )
Ces artéfacts et bien d’autres seront exposés au Musée « POP UP »


 
  1. Marteau forestier Toutes les compagnies d’exploitation forestière marquaient leurs rondins de leur marque de commerce avant de les laisser fl otter sur la rivière Gatineau. Ce marteau porte la mention « E », ce qui veut dire que ses rondins appartiennent à la compagnie de pâtes et papiers E. B. Eddy de Hull (Gatineau).
  2. Lame La lame était attachée à la botte du patineur.
  3. Fer à friserChauff é à l’époque sur le poêle à bois, ce fer servait à vaguer les cheveux, un nouveau style bien à la mode il y a un siècle.
  4. Couteau à micadonné à Cantley 1889 par Raymond Poirier. Cantley a déjà compté plusieurs mines de mica dont la plus célèbre était la mine Blackburn.
  5. Stéréopticon(« lanterne magique ») – Au milieu du 19e siècle (avant la venue du cinéma), cet objet était très populaire. Quand on regardait les images à travers les deux lentilles, les images ne faisaient qu’une seule image réaliste en 3-D.
  6. Raisin-seeder Avant la commercialisation des raisins sans pépins, on consommait des raisins avec pépins. Cet article de cuisine datant de 1895, conçu pour enlever les pépins de raisins, porte la gravure suivante : « wet the raisins ».