Cantley 1889 Articles

<em>Echo</em> Cantley <em>Echo</em>

The following article first appeared in The Echo of Cantley Volume 30 no 1, July 2018. This article is made available for the enjoyment of others with the express permission of the Echo of Cantley.

An Iconic Shoreline - Cantley and the Group of Seven

John Almstedt

In 1920, a group of artists dedicated to creating art inspired by direct contact with nature, founded “The Group of Seven”. In spite of initial rejection, members of the group became famous and well-loved Canadian artists. Some of them were inspired by Cantley’s landscape.

Gatineau River Cascades, view of the Cantley shore (from Cascades), painting by J.E.H. MacDonald.

J.E.H. MacDonald (1873-1932) was a founding member of the Group of Seven. He painted several pictures of Cantley, including Mont Cascades and Lorne Mountain, from Cascades (on the west side of the Gatineau River). The interesting features of the rapids, log jams and two high hills, with the convenience of arriving by train at the Cascades station, made this a natural venue for artists.

In 1914 MacDonald painted a series of brilliant on-the-spot studies along the banks of the Gatineau River, including painted sketches of the Cantley hills for his major 1915 canvas, “Logs on the Gatineau” (see photo). These small sketches, 8 x 10 inches, were typical of the size used by the Group of Seven at that time, often painted on wooden cigar boxes. Portraying the annual spring log drive down the Gatineau River offered dramatic action - popular at the time.

MacDonald's sketches might have been partially inspired by Canada’s 4th Governor General (1878 to 1883), The Marquess of Lorne, who enjoyed climbing to the top of the Cantley hills to get a view of Ottawa, the newly-formed capital of Canada. Lord Lorne and his wife were patrons of the arts and encouraged the establishment of the National Gallery of Canada, even selecting some of its first paintings.

Photo from Cascades towards the Cantley shore, showing Mont Cascades and the Gatineau River before the flood,1923. Photo courtesy of Gatineau Valley Historical Society archives #01743-002.

After Group of Seven artist A.Y. Jackson moved to Manotick in 1955, he and artist friend Ralph Burton also found the area attractive. They often stopped at Cascades to sketch the Cantley hills and the now-docile river.

The Cascades station has long since gone and, with the construction of the dam in 1925-27, the rapids disappeared, but amazingly the two Cantley hills remain relatively untouched. They represent the last remaining undeveloped natural area along the river between Gatineau and Wakefield. Hopefully they will remain that way for future generations of artists, photographers, boaters and hikers to enjoy.

Painting venues of famous artists like the Group of Seven have become popular tourist destinations. Examples include: “Following in the Footsteps of the Group of Seven” and “The A.Y. Jackson Trail”.

Lorne Mountain and Mont Cascades could become the focal point for highlighting contemporary and heritage art inspired by the beauty and wonder of the Cantley hills and the Gatineau River. 

John Almstedt has painted for over 40 years, strongly influenced by his friend Ralph Burton, who painted for many years with A.Y. Jackson. Some of his paintings have been inspired by the landscape along the Gatineau River near his chalet in Cantley.


Sketch for “Logs on the Gatineau” by J.E.H. MacDonald, 1915.
Mont Cascades painted sketch by J.E.H. MacDonald, 1910.

Articles Cantley 1889

Echo Cantley Echo

Cet article a été publié par l'Écho de Cantley Août 2018, Volume 30 no 2. L'Écho de Cantley a explicitement autorisé la publication de ces articles pour l'information et le plaisir nos lecteurs.

Des rives emblématiques – Cantley et le Groupe des sept

John Almstedt, traduction de Marie-Josée Cusson

En 1920, des artistes voués à la création d’œuvres paysagistes fondèrent le Groupe des sept. Les membres du Groupe ne reçurent pas un accueil chaleureux dès le départ, mais ils devinrent célèbres et réputés au pays. Certains d’entre eux se laissèrent inspirer par les paysages de Cantley.

Rivière Gatineau, vue sur la rive de Cantley depuis Cascades, peinte par J.E.H. MacDonald.

J.E.H. MacDonald (1873-1932) est l’un des membres fondateurs du Groupe des sept. Il a peint de nombreuses toiles de Cantley, notamment du Mont Cascades et du Mont Lorne, depuis Cascades (sur la rive ouest de la rivière Gatineau). Des artistes ont trouvé en ces lieux un terrain de jeu naturel, en raison des attraits intéressants des rapides, des embâcles et des deux montagnes ainsi que de la possibilité de se rendre à la station Cascades en train.

En 1914, MacDonald a peint une série d’études brillantes sur les berges de la rivière Gatineau, dont des esquisses des collines de Cantley, pour une de ses célèbres toiles, « Logs on the Gatineau », qui date de 1915 (voir la photo). À cette époque, le Groupe des sept peignait souvent de telles esquisses de 8 pouces par 10 pouces, qui étaient reproduites sur des boîtes de cigares en bois. La drave printanière annuelle sur la rivière Gatineau, un événement populaire à l’époque, donnait aux peintres l’occasion de croquer des scènes mouvementées.

Il se peut que les esquisses de MacDonald aient pu être partiellement inspirées du quatrième gouverneur général du Canada (1878-1883), le marquis de Lorne, qui se plaisait à grimper au sommet des collines de Cantley pour y admirer la vue sur Ottawa, la nouvelle capitale canadienne. Lord Lorne et sa femme étaient de grands protecteurs des arts et ils ont soutenu l’établissement de la Galerie nationale du Canada (aujourd’hui appelée le Musée des Beaux-Arts du Canada), choisissant même certains des premiers tableaux qui y ont été accrochés.

Photo de Cascades, vue sur la rive de Cantley, qui montre le Mont Cascades et la rivière Gatineau avant les inondations de 1923. La photo est une gracieuseté de la Société historique de la vallée de la Gatineau, archives no 01743-002.

Quand A. Y. Jackson, aussi membre du Groupe des sept, a refait sa vie à Manotick en 1955, son ami artiste Ralph Burton et lui ont également trouvé ces lieux attrayants. Ils s’arrêtaient souvent à Cascades pour reproduire les collines de Cantley et la rivière, qui était désormais plus calme.

La station Cascades est démantelée depuis longtemps et, après la construction du barrage entre 1925 et 1927, les rapides ont disparu, mais les deux montagnes de Cantley sont restées relativement intactes, ce qui est exceptionnel. Ce sont les deux dernières aires naturelles non développées le long de la rivière entre Gatineau et Wakefi eld. Espérons qu’elles le demeureront, pour le plaisir des prochaines générations d’artistes, de photographes, de plaisanciers et de randonneurs.

Les lieux peints par de célèbres artistes, comme ceux du Groupe des sept, sont devenus très touristiques et il est possible de les connaître dans le cadre d’activités de découverte, notamment en suivant les traces du Groupe des sept (Following in the Footsteps of the Group of Seven) ou d’A. Y. Jackson (The A.Y. Jackson Trail).

Le Mont Lorne et le Mont Cascades pourraient devenir l’épicentre de l’art contemporain et patrimonial inspiré par la beauté majestueuse des collines de Cantley et de la rivière Gatineau.

John Almstedt, peintre depuis plus de 40 ans, a été fortement influencé par son ami Ralph Burton, qui a peint pendant de nombreuses années aux côtés d’A.Y. Jackson. Certains de ses tableaux sont inspirés des paysages qui se dressent le long de la rivière Gatineau, près de son chalet à Cantley.


Esquisse de la toile « Logs on the Gatineau » de J.E.H. MacDonald, 1915.
Esquisse du Mont Cascades peinte par J.E.H. MacDonald, 1910.