Cantley 1889 Articles

<em>Echo</em> Cantley <em>Echo</em>

The following article first appeared in The Echo of Cantley Volume 29 no 9, April 2018. This article is made available for the enjoyment of others with the express permission of the Echo of Cantley.

St. Elizabeth Parish: 150 years of faith - Part Two

Mary Holmes

St. Elizabeth Elementary School, St. Elizabeth Church and its adjoining cemetery sit on four acres of land donated from Michael Shields’ farm. One of the earliest headstones is for John Cashman who died on December 1, 1848. From then, there are headstones dated through the 1850s and 1860s right up to the present day.

The southern portion of the cemetery, next to the road, was used fi rst, then the cemetery continued expanding in a northerly direction. In the “old” part of the cemetery we fi nd many simple headstones alongside those that are more ornate works of art. No, there isn’t anyone buried there who was prime minister or who walked on the moon! However, there are many interesting characters who were buried there or memorialized there.

From the First World War, there is a memorial stone for William H. Smillie who was killed in action in the Dardanelles at the age of 40. The Dardanelles (Gallipoli) Campaign, took place at the Gallipoli peninsula (in modern day Turkey) between April 1915 and January 1916. It was a joint British and French operation, mounted to capture Constantinople and to secure a sea route to Russia. However, the attempt failed, with heavy casualties on both sides.

In the western part of the cemetery there is a military headstone, which is unusual to fi nd outside of a military cemetery. Sapper Michael J. Maloney, who actually survived the War, died on January 11, 1920. His headstone lists him as CRT CEF. A sapper was a combat engineer; this rank was equivalent to a private. He was a member of Canadian Railway Troops in the Canadian Expeditionary Forces, which was the designation of the fi eld force that served overseas in the First World War.

His family erected a memorial stone for Joseph Andrew Cletus Holmes who served as an air gunner and held the rank of sergeant in the Royal Canadian Air Force in the Second World War. He was killed on August 24, 1943 and is buried in the Berlin 1939 – 1945 War Cemetery.

Many members of the parish served the larger community as mayors, secretary-treasurers and councillors. One notable is farmer and trader, Alexandre Prudhomme. He became the fi rst mayor in the newly-formed Municipality of East Hull.

At the first general meeting of the municipal council held at the residence of James A. Davis on the 28th day of October 1889, a motion by Councillors Patrick Maloney and Samuel McClelland saw Prudhomme elected mayor. This was a position to which Alexandre was re-appointed annually by his fellow councillors until his death in January 1894.

Twenty-five-year-old Cantley lad, Anthony Milks, was one of 386 Canadian voyageurs recruited by the British Government with the permission of the Canadian Government, to go on the Nile Expedition from 1884 to 1885. The members of this expeditionary force navigated the many rapids of the Nile River to rescue Major-General Charles George Gordon who had become trapped at Khartoum, Sudan.

Part One of this article appeared in the April 2018 Echo. Mary Holmes is a Board member of Cantley 1889 (www.cantley1889.ca facebook.com/ Cantley1889).

If you have any information about William Smillie, please contact us at info.cantley1889@gmail.com.

Articles Cantley 1889

Echo Cantley Echo

Cet article a été publié par l'Écho de Cantley Mai 2018, Volume 29 no 10. L'Écho de Cantley a explicitement autorisé la publication de ces articles pour l'information et le plaisir nos lecteurs.

Paroisse Ste-Élisabeth : 150 ans de foi - deuxième partie

Mary Holmes

L’école primaire Sainte-Élisabeth, l’église SainteÉlisabeth et le cimetière qui y est annexé sont aménagés sur un terrain de quatre acres de terres agricoles offertes par Michael Shields. L’une des plus anciennes pierres tombales est celle de John Cashman, décédé le 1er décembre 1848. Certaines pierres datent d’aussi loin que les années 1850 et 1860, tandis que d’autres sont très récentes.

La partie sud du cimetière, près de la route, a été le premier secteur aménagé. Par la suite, l’expansion s’est poursuivie vers le nord. Dans l’« ancienne » partie du cimetière, de nombreuses pierres tombales sobres se mêlent à d’autres qui revêtent des ornements plus artistiques. Non, aucun des occupants des cercueils qui y sont enterrés n’a été premier ministre ou n’a marché sur la lune! Cela dit, bien des personnages intéressants y sont enterrés ou immortalisés.

Une pierre tombale datant de l’époque de la Première Guerre mondiale appartient à William H. Smillie, tué au combat dans les Dardanelles à l’âge de 40 ans. La bataille des Dardanelles (de Gallipoli) s’est déroulée dans la péninsule de Gallipoli (aujourd’hui la Turquie) d’avril 1915 à janvier 1916. Cette opération franco-britannique visait à prendre Constantinople et à se frayer une route maritime vers la Russie. La tentative a cependant échoué et engendré de lourdes pertes dans les deux camps.

Il y a, dans la section ouest du cimetière, une pierre tombale militaire, ce qui est rare à l’extérieur d’un cimetière militaire. Le sapeur Michael J. Maloney est décédé le 11 janvier 1920, après avoir survécu à la guerre. L’inscription sur sa pierre tombale indique « CRT CEF ». Un sapeur était un ingénieur de combat au rang équivalent à celui d’un soldat. Ces initiales signifi ent qu’il faisait partie des Troupes ferroviaires canadiennes du Corps expéditionnaire canadien, la force de campagne qui a servi à l’étranger au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale.

La famille de Joseph Andrew Cletus Holmes a érigé une pierre à sa mémoire. Mitrailleur de bord, il était sergent au sein de l’Aviation royale du Canada pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Il a été tué le 24 août 1943 et a été enterré au Cimetière de la guerre de 1939-1945 de Berlin.

Bien des paroissiens se sont impliqués dans la communauté à titre de maires, de secrétaires-trésoriers et de conseillers. Parmi ceux-ci, mentionnons Alexandre Prudhomme, agriculteur et commerçant, devenu le premier maire de la nouvelle Municipalité de Hull Est après l’adoption d’une motion par les conseillers Patrick Maloney et Samuel McClelland lors de la première assemblée générale du conseil municipal tenue le 28e jour d’octobre 1889 à la résidence de James A. Davis. Alexandre Prudhomme a été nommé de nouveau à ce poste tous les ans par les conseillers jusqu’à sa mort, en janvier 1894.

Un jeune homme de 25 ans, Anthony Milks, est l’un des 386 voyageurs canadiens recrutés par le gouvernement britannique, avec l’autorisation du gouvernement canadien, pour prendre part à une expédition sur le Nil de 1884 à 1885. L’équipage avait remonté les rapides du Nil pour sauver le major général Charles George Gordon, qui ne pouvait sortir de Khartoum, au Soudan.

La première partie de cet article a été publiée dans l’édition d’avril 2018 de L’Écho. Mary Holmes fait partie du conseil d’administration de Cantley 1889 (www.cantley1889.ca ou facebook.com/Cantley1889).

Si vous avez de l’information au sujet de William Smillie, veuillez nous écrire à l’adresse info.cantley1889@gmail.com.