Cantley 1889 Articles

<em>Echo</em> Cantley <em>Echo</em>

The following article first appeared in The Echo of Cantley Volume 29 no 8, March 2018. This article is made available for the enjoyment of others with the express permission of the Echo of Cantley.

Notable Women of the Gatineau Valley – now in Cantley!

Margaret Phillips

The perfect way to celebrate the significance of women in our local history, especially on International Women’s Day (March 8, 2018), is to visit …

In the June 2017 edition of the Echo of Cantley, Helen Mac Kinnon wrote about the Fairbairn House exhibit celebrating remarkable women of the Gatineau Valley. The exhibit moved to the Chelsea Library in October for fourteen weeks where it was very well received by an estimated 1300 people. Now it is in Cantley!

The Notable Women of the Gatineau Valley exhibit profiles incidents in the lives of ten area women telling us of their incredible accomplishments and at the same time giving us a picture of what life was like here in bygone times.

Cantley should feel proud that, of the ten women selected by Fairbairn for this exhibit, four are from the Cantley area. If you visit the exhibit you will learn why.

With the death of her husband and two children in Ireland during the Great Hunger of 1847, Catherine Holmes (1825-1911) experienced even worse horrors escaping to Canada. Find out what happened and how she ended up living in Cantley. Her farm has remained in the family ever since and some of her descendants still live here today.

Ada Almira (Brown) Reid (1874-1948), third generation on her Cantley farm, broke all female stereotypes by becoming a valley correspondent for The Ottawa Citizen at age 14! Learn about her twelve-year career which ended when she spent her time raising five children and helping with the family farm in Kirk’s Ferry.

Alice (Powers) McGlashan (1902-1987) came to Cantley as a teacher in 1924. After her marriage in 1925, she devoted herself to raising her family and running the McGlashan General Store in Wilson’s Corners. Discover her great heroism when fire tragically destroyed both store and their upstairs family residence during a snow storm, at 5 am in January 1938.

Farm wife, mother, church organist, writer, authority on local history and advocate for changes in Cantley’s education system, Eirene McClelland (1909-1989) made a tremendous contribution to the community of Cantley. Learn of her many accomplishments and how she managed to create a better school system for Cantley. Her work infl uenced other communities and spurred the eventual formation of the Western Quebec School Board.

The Notable Women exhibit is in Cantley until May 1st, 2018. Banners describing the lives of ten women are on display in the lower hallway of the Municipal Building. Just inside the Library is a touchscreen featuring video capsules dramatizing moments in the lives of these women, so the exhibit is best seen during Library hours.

The exhibition content was developed with the collaboration of Cantley 1889 and the Gatineau Valley Historical Society and with financial support from the Department of Canadian Heritage, CLD des Collines-de-l’Outaouais, and the Municipality of La Pêche.


Ada Almira (Brown) Reid (1874-1948)
Catherine Holmes (1825-1911)

 
Alice (Powers) McGlashan (1902-1987)
Eirene McClelland (1909-1989)

 

 

Return to list...

Articles Cantley 1889

Echo Cantley Echo

Cet article a été publié par l'Écho de Cantley Février 2018, Volume 29 no 7. L'Écho de Cantley a explicitement autorisé la publication de ces articles pour l'information et le plaisir nos lecteurs.

Femmes remarquables de la vallée de la Gatineau – exposition présentée à Cantley!

Margaret Phillips, traduction de Marie-Josée Cusson

La meilleure façon de souligner le rôle important des femmes dans l’histoire de notre région, en particulier en cette Journée internationale des femmes (8 mars 2018), est de visiter l’exposition...

Dans l’édition de juin 2017 de L’Écho, Helen MacKinnon a écrit au sujet de l’exposition à la Maison Fairbairn qui soulignait l’apport des femmes remarquables de la vallée de la Gatineau. L’exposition a été présentée pendant 14 semaines à la bibliothèque de Chelsea à partir du mois d’octobre, où elle a eu un très bon accueil de la part de quelque 1 300 personnes. Elle est maintenant présentée à Cantley!

L’exposition Femmes remarquables de la vallée de la Gatineau porte un regard sur les événements qui ont façonné la vie de dix femmes de la région : on y voit leurs incroyables réalisations, mais aussi l’essence de la vie d’ici, à une autre époque.

À Cantley, nous avons de quoi être fiers, car quatre des dix femmes que la Maison Fairbairn a choisi pour cette exposition sont de chez nous. Quand vous visiterez l’exposition, vous saurez pourquoi.

Après la mort de son mari et de ses deux enfants en Irlande pendant la Grande Famine de 1847, Catherine Holmes (1825-1911) a vécu de pires horreurs encore pendant sa traversée vers le Canada. Vous allez découvrir ce qui lui est arrivé et ce qui l’a amenée à Cantley. Sa ferme est demeurée dans la famille depuis et certains de ses descendants vivent encore ici de nos jours.

Ada Almira (Brown) Reid (1874-1948), troisième génération à occuper sa ferme de Cantley, a brisé tous les stéréotypes féminins en devenant correspondante du Ottawa Citizen pour la vallée à l’âge de 14 ans! Vous en apprendrez plus sur sa carrière qui a duré 12 ans et qu’elle a dû mettre de côté pour s’occuper de ses cinq enfants et de la ferme familiale à Kirk’s Ferry.

Alice (Powers) McGlashan (1902-1987) enseignante, est arrivée à Cantley en 1924. À la suite de son mariage en 1925, elle s’emploie à élever sa famille et à gérer le magasin général McGlashan à Wilson’s Corners. Découvrez l’héroïsme dont elle a fait preuve lorsqu’un incendie a tragiquement détruit le magasin et la résidence familiale à l’étage au cours d’une tempête hivernale, un petit matin de janvier 1938.

Femme de fermier, mère de famille, organiste à l’église, autorité en matière d’histoire locale et militante en faveur de changements au système d’éducation de Cantley, Eirene McClelland (1909-1989) a immensément contribué à la communauté de Cantley. Vous découvrirez ses nombreuses réalisations, notamment tout ce qu’elle a fait pour créer un meilleur système scolaire à Cantley. Son travail a infl uencé d’autres communautés et a par la suite mené à la formation de la Commission scolaire Western Québec.

L’exposition Femmes remarquables sera présentée à Cantley jusqu’au 1er mai 2018. Dans le hall d’entrée du rez-dechaussée de l’édifice municipal, vous verrez des affiches décrivant la vie de ces dix femmes. Il est toutefois recommandé de s’y rendre pendant les heures d’ouverture de la bibliothèque, car vous trouverez à la bibliothèque un écran tactile qui présente des capsules vidéo reproduisant des moments de la vie de ces femmes.

L’exposition a été créée avec la collaboration de Cantley 1889 et de la Société historique de la vallée de la Gatineau ainsi qu’avec le soutien financier du ministère du Patrimoine canadien, du CLD des Collines-de-l’Outaouais et de la Municipalité de La Pêche.


Ada Almira (Brown) Reid (1874-1948)
Catherine Holmes (1825-1911)

 
Alice (Powers) McGlashan (1902-1987)
Eirene McClelland (1909-1989)

 

 

Retour au liste...