Cantley 1889 Articles

Echo Cantley Echo

The following article first appeared in The Echo of Cantley Volume 29 no 6, December 2017. This article is made available for the enjoyment of others with the express permission of the Echo of Cantley.

It is December in Cantley in the early/mid 1900s...

Margaret Phillips, (from interview transcripts of Lola Burke Foley and Theresa Lynott Holmes)

Once the snow arrives it is difficult, if not impossible, to travel from Cantley farms. Families in remote areas are often snowbound. Many must find ways to cross their fields to reach the nearest “rolled” road. School absenteeism is high in winter months. Cantley’s George Burke has a contract with the municipality to roll the main roads from Cantley to Pointe Gatineau. He attaches heavy iron rollers to his team of horses to pack down the snow. For safety, his horses wear bells to announce their presence in the early darkness of late afternoons.

Farm work had to be done every day of the year! Mabel Gow, née Fetherston-Haugh, on her Cantley farm before 1910. Photo Jeannie Faraday; on display at Cantley town hall.

During the Christmas season, all families manage to make their snowy journey to Christmas and holiday celebrations, often picking up others on the way. Sleighs are heated with hot bricks and families are wrapped in warm buffalo hides. The horses have blankets to keep them warm and bells to ring in the festive season.

At St. Elizabeth Church, horses wait for their families under open shelters. The highlight for the St. Elizabeth children is their Christmas school concert in the Parish Hall organized by their teachers. On Christmas Eve, midnight mass is magical with a lovely choir performing the Christmas concert in the beautifully decorated church.

In winter, many Cantley men work in logging camps or elsewhere, or are returning from the wars overseas. Many Cantley children live far from their families in larger centres like Ottawa or Montreal in order to go to school because of low enrollment in Cantley’s schools or problems travelling to and from their own school. So imagine what a wonderful time Christmas is when families are reunited and friends return home. Houses are decorated with ornaments and Christmas trees. The December 25 feast is the most special family gathering of the season.

There are many house parties during the holidays. Among the most popular are the Gauthier’s party on New Year’s Day and the Chenier’s “Little Christmas” party on January 6th. House parties are family parties, for young and old, with delicious food and square dancing. There is always a fiddler and, of course, Jimmy Smith playing his mouth organ.

Families have little money to spend on gift-giving. Travel to stores is a difficult luxury. “Online shopping” for gifts is by mail-order from the Simpson’s and Eaton’s catalogues. Instead of “email”, Christmas greetings are sent by post. Instead of “Twitter”, the telegram delivers short messages of 10 words or less, quickly, anywhere in the world.

Today a century later, times have changed in many ways. Hopefully for you, December’s festive season continues to be a time for family traditions, fun with friends and moments for refl ection and hope for the coming year.

Best wishes from Cantley 1889!

...watch for the 2018 municipal calendar with photos from Cantley 1889’s archives!


Roads were rolled, not ploughed until automobiles became popular. Roller with horses at Trowsse Farm, Wakefield, circa 1930. Photo Gatineau Valley Historical Society.
A Shopper’s View of Canada’s Past – Pages from Eaton’s Catalogue 1886-1930”, University of Toronto Press.

 

Return to list...

Articles Cantley 1889

Echo Cantley Echo

Cet article a été publié par l'Écho de Cantley Décembre 2017, Volume 29 no 6. L'Écho de Cantley a explicitement autorisé la publication de ces articles pour l'information et le plaisir nos lecteurs.

Ça se passe à Cantley, un mois de décembre du début ou du milieu des années 1900...

Margaret Phillips, (d’après des transcriptions d’entrevues avec Lola Burke Foley et Theresa Lynott Holmes). Traduction de Marie-Josée Cusson

Lorsque la neige arrive, il est difficile, voire impossible, de sortir d’une ferme à Cantley. Les familles vivant en région éloignée se retrouvent alors souvent isolées. Beaucoup doivent trouver le moyen de traverser leurs champs pour atteindre la route praticable la plus proche. En saison hivernale, le taux d’absentéisme scolaire est élevé. George Burke de Cantley a conclu un contrat avec la Municipalité pour aplatir les routes principales, de Cantley à Pointe- Gatineau. Il attache de lourds rouleaux de fer à ses chevaux pour comprimer la neige. Par mesure de sécurité, ses chevaux portent des clochettes qui annoncent leur présence à l’aube ou au crépuscule.

Les travaux agricoles devaient être faits chaque jour de l’année! Mabel Gow, née Fetherston-Haugh, sur sa ferme à Cantley, avant 1910. Photo : Jeannie Faraday; exposée à la Municipalité de Cantley.

Dans le temps de Noël, toutes les familles bravent la neige pour se rendre à leurs festivités, souvent en faisant monter des gens sur leur passage. Les carrioles sont chauffées à la brique chaude et les familles s’emmitoufl ent dans des peaux de bison. Les chevaux ont une couverture, pour les tenir bien au chaud, et des clochettes qui résonnent dans le temps des Fêtes.

À l’église Ste-Élisabeth, les chevaux attendent leur famille sous des abris à aire ouverte. Les enfants ont toujours bien hâte au concert de Noël de l’école, organisé par leurs enseignants, à la salle paroissiale. La veille de Noël, la messe de minuit déploie toute sa magie à travers sa charmante chorale, dans une église toute bien décorée.

L’hiver, plusieurs Cantléens travaillent dans des camps de bûcherons ou ailleurs ou reviennent d’une guerre à l’étranger. Bien des enfants de Cantley vivent loin de leur famille, dans des grands centres comme Ottawa ou Montréal, où ils doivent aller à l’école en raison du faible taux d’inscription à l’école de Cantley ou des difficultés qu’ils auraient à se rendre à l’école. Imaginez alors à quel point Noël apporte son lot de merveilles quand les familles sont réunies et les amis reviennent à la maison. Décorations et arbres de Noël embellissent les maisons. Le festin du 25 décembre est le rassemblement familial le plus spécial de la période des Fêtes.

Pendant les Fêtes, il y a aussi plusieurs fêtes dans les maisons. Les plus populaires sont la fête des Gauthier au jour de l’An et la petite fête de Noël des Chenier le 6 janvier. Les fêtes dans les maisons sont des fêtes familiales où jeunes et moins jeunes se réunissent pour partager de bons repas et danser des danses carrées. Il y a toujours un violoneux de la partie et, bien entendu, Jimmy Smith à l’harmonica.

Les familles ont peu d’argent pour des cadeaux. C’est même un luxe de se déplacer en magasin. Au lieu du magasinage en ligne, les familles commandent des cadeaux qu’elles trouvent dans les catalogues de Simpson et d’Eaton et elles les reçoivent par la poste. Les voeux de Noël ne sont pas envoyés par courriel, mais par la poste. Twitter n’existe pas encore, mais le télégramme permet d’envoyer de courts messages de 10 mots ou moins, rapidement, partout dans le monde.

De nos jours, un siècle plus tard, les temps ont bien changé. Espérons que pour vous aussi, les festivités de décembre riment avec traditions familiales, plaisir entre amis, réflexions et espoir en l’année qui commence.

Cantley 1889 vous offre ses meilleurs voeux!

...ne manquez pas le calendrier municipal de 2018 rempli de photos des archives de Cantley 1889!


La neige sur les chemins était comprimée et non déblayée, jusqu’à ce que la voiture gagne en popularité. Rouleaux et chevaux à la ferme Trowsse, Wakefield, vers 1930. Photo : Société historique de la vallée de la Gatineau.
Un aperçu du passé du magasinage au Canada - Des pages du catalogue Eaton de 1886 à 1930, University of Toronto Press.

 

Retour au liste...