Cantley 1889 Articles

Echo Cantley Echo

The following article first appeared in The Echo of Cantley Volume 2 no 1, July 2017. This article is made available for the enjoyment of others with the express permission of the Echo of Cantley.

“A Summer… A Fair” - Theatre Wakefield brings Cantley’s heritage to life with musical play and family fun!

Peter MacGibbon (Théâtre Wakefield) et Margaret Phillips (Cantley 1889).

From 1880 to 2004, the highlight of every summer was our country fair - the Cantley Picnic. Organized entirely by volunteers, it attracted hundreds of people from as far away as Ottawa. They came for the games … contests … delicious food … famous homemade pies … live music … dancing … but mostly to have fun with friends and neighbours!

  See poster

Since 2016, Cantley 1889 has been working with Theatre Wakefield to discover why this fair was so important to the community of Cantley. By interviewing Cantley’s elders, we learned about life in earlier times, colourful Cantley characters and details about the Cantley Picnic which made it so fun.

On Saturday, July 22nd these characters will come to life at the resurrected Cantley Picnic in Ian Tamblyn’s latest musical play, “A Summer… A Fair”. Theatre Wakefield’s professional cast will perform stories and songs that are always amusing, often hilarious and sometimes poignant as they recreate Cantley’s history.

The Cantley Premiere will be extra special, capturing the spirit of the Cantley fair. It will take place at the century-old site of the Cantley Picnic – St. Elizabeth’s Parish Grounds (inside the Parish Hall if it rains) AND … this performance will be immediately followed by square-dancing with a live band and caller!

Ian Tamblyn’s other musical plays, “A Bridge to the Past” (2015) and “A River Runs Through Us” (2016), previously delighted enthusiastic audiences around the Outaouais. After July 22, “A Summer… A Fair” will tour at least a dozen other communities around the region.

Don’t miss this first musical play about Cantley! Bring your own picnic anytime before the 1 pm performance. Enjoy old-fashioned refreshments provided by the Cantley Lions Club. ZBring lawn chairs and sunscreen. Free admission (donations welcome). It’s the perfect occasion to have fun with friends and neighbours!

With the support of the Department of Canadian Heritage, Theatre Wakefield’s longer-term goal for this project is to work with communities to share theatre, music, dance, film, or visual arts from many sources in a regional touring network.


Mairesse Madeleine Brunette and Nelson Lawlor (donor of the mine car) unveiling the Cantley mine car recently installed in Parc Mary-Anne-Phillips.
Cantley’s mine car with its descriptive panel in Parc Mary-Anne-Phillips, at the official opening on May 28th.

 
(left to right) Maurice Gauthier (former miner in Blackburn Mine), Nelson Lawlor (donor of mine car), Mairesse Madeleine Brunette, Margaret Phillips (president Cantley 1889), Patricia Lawlor (coordinator of Mine Car Project) at Cantley 1889’s official opening of the Mine Car in Parc Mary-Anne-Phillips.

 

Return to list...

Articles Cantley 1889

Echo Cantley Echo

Cet article a été publié par l'Écho de Cantley Juillet 2017, Volume 29 no 1. L'Écho de Cantley a explicitement autorisé la publication de ces articles pour l'information et le plaisir nos lecteurs.

Place au théâtre avec « A Summer… A Fair » - Le Théâtre Wakefield redonne vie au patrimoine de Cantley dans un après-midi de plaisir et de théâtre musical!

Peter MacGibbon (Théâtre Wakefield) et Margaret Phillips (Cantley 1889). Traduction de Marie-Josée Cusson.

De 1880 à 2004, l’événement phare de l’été à Cantley était le piquenique champêtre. Entièrement organisé par des bénévoles, il attirait des centaines de personnes venant d’aussi loin qu’Ottawa. Les gens y allaient pour les jeux, les concours, les mets délicieux, les fameuses tartes maison, les musiciens, la danse... mais surtout pour passer du bon temps entre amis et voisins!

  Voir l'affiche

Depuis 2016, Cantley 1889 et le Théâtre Wakefield tentent de découvrir pourquoi cette fête était si importante pour la communauté. C’est en interrogeant des aînés de la municipalité que nous en avons appris plus sur la vie à l’époque, sur certains personnages colorés de Cantley et sur ce qui rendait ce pique-nique aussi divertissant.

Le samedi 22 juillet, ces personnages reprendront vie en même temps que le pique-nique de Cantley, au cours duquel sera présentée en version anglaise la plus récente comédie musicale d’Ian Tamblyn, A Summer… A Fair. La distribution professionnelle du Théâtre Wakefield présentera des histoires et des chansons toujours amusantes, souvent hilarantes et parfois poignantes, qui retracent l’histoire de Cantley.

Cette première représentation à Cantley sera toute spéciale puisqu’elle sera à l’image de la fête champêtre d’antan. Elle aura lieu sur le parterre de la paroisse Ste-Élisabeth, là où le pique-nique de Cantley s’est déroulé pendant un siècle, et elle sera immédiatement suivie de danses carrés au son d’un groupe de musiciens et d’un câlleur! En cas de pluie, le spectacle sera donné dans la salle paroissiale.

Les autres comédies musicales d’Ian Tamblyn, A Bridge to the Past (2015) et A River Runs Through Us (2016), ont déjà conquis les spectateurs enthousiastes de l’Outaouais. Après le 22 juillet, la pièce A Summer… A Fair partira en tournée dans au moins 12 endroits de la région.

Ne ratez pas la toute première comédie musicale sur Cantley! Apportez votre pique-nique, que vous pourrez déguster avant la représentation de 13 h. Des rafraîchissements à l’ancienne vous seront offerts par le Club Lions de Cantley. Apportez vos chaises de parterre et votre écran solaire. C’est gratuit, mais nous acceptons les dons. Voilà l’occasion idéale de vous divertir avec vos amis et vos voisins!

Bénéficiant du soutien du ministère du Patrimoine canadien, le Théâtre Wakefield a pour objectif, avec ce projet, de collaborer avec les communautés pour présenter du théâtre, de la musique, de la danse, des fi lms ou des arts visuels de diverses sources au sein d’un réseau régional de tournée.


La mairesse Madeleine Brunette et Nelson Lawlor, donateur de la berline de mine, dévoilent la berline de mine de Cantley qui a été installée récemment au parc Mary-Anne-Phillips.
La berline de mine de Cantley et sa plaque descriptive au parc Mary-Anne-Phillips, lors du dévoilement officiel, le 28 mai.

 
(De gauche à droite) Maurice Gauthier (ancien mineur à la mine Blackburn), Nelson Lawlor (donateur de la berline de mine), la mairesse Madeleine Brunette, Margaret Phillips (présidente de Cantley 1889) et Patricia Lawlor (coordonnatrice du projet de la berline de mine) lors du dévoilement officiel de la berline, organisé par Cantley 1889.

 

 

Retour au liste...